super bowl bets 53 September 5, 2018 Staff Writer

NFL News

2018 NFL Betting Props: NFL Coach of the Year Odds

No matter who you select on the NFL Coach of the Year odds, if you hit your bet you’re bound to get a healthy payday. The favorites will pay well on the prop odds. But this award can be one of the more difficult to predict every season.

McVay Favored In NFL Coach of the Year Odds

Last year’s Coach of the Year was Los Angeles Rams’ boss Sean McVay. He’ll begin this season as the favorite to claim the award again. McVay checks in at the top of the odds at +900.

It’s been a long time since anyone repeated as Coach of the Year, with the last being Joe Gibbs in 1982-83. The Rams appear to be the class of the NFC West. They are also a legitimate Super Bowl contender after adding Brandin Cooks, Ndamukong Suh and Marcus Peters. They also gave big money to Todd Gurley and Aaron Donald. If McVay can lead the Rams to another strong season he could repeat as Coach of the Year. The Rams are heavily favorite in this season’s NFC West odds.

Nagy and Pederson Follow in NFL Coach of the Year Odds

Following McVay on the Coach of the Year odds are the Chicago Bears’ Matt Nagy at +950 and the Philadelphia Eagles’ Doug Pederson at +1200.

Nagy has nowhere to lead the Bears but up after Chicago won only five games last season. His chances of winning lean heavily on Bears’ quarterback Mitchell Trubisky. Chicago brought in some new receiving options for him in Allen Robinson and Trey Burton. Now, it will be up to Nagy to help Trubinsky take the next step.

The addition of Khalil Mack on defense is also a big plus for the Bears. They have a tough road ahead of them in the NFC North with the Minnesota Vikings and Green Bay Packers ahead of them.

Belichick in Next Group on Coach of the Year Betting

After the top three on the odds, there is a logjam at +1600. This includes the Los Angeles’ Chargers Anthony Lynn, the New England Patriots’ Bill Belichick, the New York Giants’ Pat Shurmur, the San Francisco 49ers’ Kyle Shanahan, and the Minnesota Vikings’ Mike Zimmer.

From that group, Belichick is the only former winner. In fact, Belichick has won Coach of the Year three times, with his last coming in 2010. Winning is expected in New England, so it may be difficult for Belichick to stand out and get consideration for the award. That is, unless, he can lead New England to another 16-0 season.

The two standouts from the +1600 group may be Shanahan and Zimmer. The 49ers are a tough team to read heading into the season after closing out last year with five straight wins. If they can compete with the Rams in the NFC West, Shanahan could draw some attention.

The Vikings are Super Bowl contenders and have high expectations after bringing in Kirk Cousins. If Zimmer can lead Minnesota to another NFC North title he should be in the running.

Aside from Belichick and McVay, there are other coaches on the odds list that already have Coach of the Year awards on their mantle. This includes the Kansas City Chiefs’ Andy Reid at +1800, the New Orleans Saints’ Sean Payton, the Dallas Cowboys’ Jason Garrett and the Carolina Panthers’ Ron Rivera, all at +2500. The Cincinnati Bengals’ Marvin Lewis is at +4000.